Can I refuse compulsory overtime?
If your contract says you have compulsory overtime but it’s ‘non-guaranteed’, your employer doesn’t have to offer overtime. But if they do, you must accept and work it. Your employer could take disciplinary action or dismiss you if you don’t do the overtime you’ve agreed to.
Can you be forced overtime?
“Yes,” your employer can require you to work overtime and can fire you if you refuse, according to the Fair Labor Standards Act or FLSA (29 U.S.C. § 201 and following), the federal overtime law. The FLSA sets no limits on how many hours a day or week your employer can require you to work.
Is mandatory overtime legal in the US?
The answer is yes, an employer can force employees to work mandatory overtime. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is responsible for establishing the 40-hour work week for employees. The law does not place a maximum limit on the number of hours employers can require their employees to work.
What are the labor laws in CT?
Connecticut employers must pay the overtime rate of 1.5 times an employee’s regular pay rate for any additional hour worked (over 40) in a workweek. Connecticut law does not require employers to pay overtime on a daily basis, weekends, or holidays unless required by an employer-employee agreement.
Can employees refuse to work overtime?
The contract of employment may contain an agreement to work overtime if the need arises. If an employee refuses to work agreed overtime, it amounts to a breach of contract and disciplinary action can be taken against the employee (as a refusal to work agreed overtime amounts to misconduct.
What does compulsory overtime mean?
Unlike ‘voluntary’ overtime, compulsory overtime is a contractual obligation which clearly states that the employee is required to work additional hours, often on a regular basis.
How do you decline working overtime?
But if you want to offer a partial solution you could try: “I could do a portion of the shift from this time to this time if that is helpful.”…If you feel compelled to say something beyond “No” try:
- “No. Sorry.”
- “No. Thanks for asking me.”
- “No. Please keep me in mind for future open shifts.”
- “Sorry, I am not available.”
Can you be forced to work overtime in CT?
Connecticut labor laws require employers to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek. An employer must also comply with federal overtime laws.
Can you get fired for no reason in CT?
Connecticut is an at-will employment state. Essentially, this means that employers are within their rights to terminate an employee at any time, for any lawful reason or for no reason at all.
Can an employee refuse to work overtime?
Can my employer change my hours without asking?
An employment contract can only be varied if there is agreement or if the terms allow it. If your contract is clear and says that your employer can make the specific change that they want to make e.g. to vary or reduce your hours, then your employer may be able to make the change without your agreement.
Why is overtime necessary?
One major benefit employers reap from overtime is a more productive workforce. Employees put in longer hours and increase the level of how much they complete. This allows the company to produce more goods or services and deliver them to customers at a faster rate. When the company thrives, so do all its employees.
What states have overtime laws?
State Law/Rule; Alabama: 40 Hours Per Week: Alaska: 8 h/day THEN 40 h/week: Arizona: 40 Hours Per Week: Arkansas: 40 Hours Per Week: California: California: Colorado: 12 h/day AND 40 h/week: Connecticut: 40 Hours Per Week: Delaware: 40 Hours Per Week: Florida: 40 Hours Per Week: Georgia: 40 Hours Per Week: Hawaii: 40 Hours Per Week: Idaho: 40 Hours Per Week: Illinois: 40 Hours Per Week: Indiana
Why is mandatory overtime legal?
There are several reasons that employers may choose to require mandatory overtime for workers. First, current employees know their jobs. If employers hired additional employees (and paid them the regular hourly rate rather than overtime), new hires would need training. And that costs time and money.
Can exempt employees be required to work overtime?
The FLSA allows for exemptions from the overtime requirement for certain employees who work in administrative, professional, and executive jobs (known as exempt employees). To be considered “exempt,” these employees must generally satisfy three tests: Salary-level test. Employees must receive a salary of at least $684 per week. Salary-basis test.
What is a mandatory overtime policy?
Sometimes referred to as forced overtime, mandatory overtime is when an employer requires employees to work more than their regularly scheduled 40-hour work week. Employers can make the extra hours mandatory and do not need the approval of employees to make it a requirement. Can Employers Force Employees to Work Mandatory Overtime?