How do I identify a Ford 9 gearbox?

How do I identify a Ford 9 gearbox?

The main differences between Type 9 gearboxes input shafts are as follows:

  1. The 2.8 V6 and 2.3 Diesel have long shafts and a long pilot shaft going into the flywheel spigot bearing.
  2. The 2.8 V6 has 19 teeth (internal)
  3. The 2.3 diesel has 18 teeth (internal)
  4. The V6 has a longer front cover tube than the diesels version.

How much power can a Type 9 gearbox handle?

BGH’s Sporting Close gearboxes are rated to 280 bhp and 250 lb. ft, which is more than enough for most normally- aspirated engines.

Are all type 9 gearboxes 5 speed?

When it comes to sourcing a five-speed gearbox for your rear-wheel-drive classic Ford, the Type-9 is the default choice. In fact, thanks to its compact nature, the Type-9’s become the default choice of five-speed for almost all rear-wheel-drive classic cars where five gears were never offered as standard.

What engine fits a 9 gearbox?

Type 9 (also, Type N, T9, or T-9) is a gearbox from Ford that was used in Ford Capri 1.6, 2.0 1984 onwards, Capri 2.8 1983 onwards, Ford Sierra 1.6, 1.8, 2.0, Sierra XR4i, Sierra XR4x4 2.8 and the Scorpio 4×4 as well as the US market Merkur XR4Ti and Merkur Scorpio.

What is a bullet gearbox?

Often referred to as the ‘Bullet’ gearbox, although Bullet actually refers to only GT/RS spec three rail boxes that are fitted with close gear ratios as standard.

What is a Ford rocket gearbox?

Ford 4 speed single rail gearbox, used for more demanding applications than the Type 3 box. It is available most often without an integral bellhousing, although later boxes (usually found in Sierras) had integral bellhousings. Cast iron maincase with alloy tail housing. Often referred to as the ‘Rocket’ box.

How much oil does a Type 9 gearbox take?

Oil capacity: 2wd 1.9 litres, 4wd 1.25 litres (plus 0.5 litres in transfer box).

What is a Ford Capri?

The Ford Capri is a fastback coupé built by Ford of Europe, designed by Philip T. Clark, who was also involved in the design of the Ford Mustang. It used the mechanical components from the Mk2 Ford Cortina and was intended as the European equivalent of the Ford Mustang.

How many gears are there in bullet?

There are 5 Speed gears available in Royal Enfield Bullet 350.

What is a Type E gearbox?

The Ford Type E transmission is a 4 speed single selector rail gearbox, used for higher horse powered engines. It came with removable bellhousing in most UK versions and built in integral bellhousing in some Taunus versions. The Ford Type E gearbox is regularly referred to as the “Rocket” box.

How many Ford Capris are left?

2021 2019
FORD CAPRI 427 383
FORD CAPRI 1300 GT L 3 3

Which was the fastest Ford Capri?

Ford entered the MkI Capri into the European Touring Car Championship in 1974, spawning its final, and fastest, iteration; the RS3100.

What kind of gearbox does a Ford Type 9 have?

Ford Type 9 Gearbox Guide Ford’s first RWD 5 speed box, based on the Type E. Cast iron maincase with alloy tail housing. This gearbox is commonly used for 5 speed conversions on older vehicles. Some later versions were available with integral bellhousings, although they are more commonly found with removable bellhousings.

What kind of gearbox does Ford use for 5 speed conversion?

Ford’s first RWD 5 speed box, based on the Type E. Cast iron maincase with alloy tail housing. This gearbox is commonly used for 5 speed conversions on older vehicles.

What size is the input shaft on a Ford gearbox?

The input shaft is the standard Ford 1″ diameter 12 spline shaft, and it mates with the standard Ford bolt pattern for gearboxes. 1.9 Litres, standard grade 75W/90 semi-synthetic.

When did the GMC Sierra type-9 gearbox come out?

The Type-9 was first introduced shortly after the Sierra appeared in 1982 and was a development of the existing, four-speed Type-E gearbox. Though visually and physically similar to the Type-E, the Type-9 featured a slightly-different design casing (though still cast iron), plus an alloy sandwich plate between the rear of the casing