Is The Legend of Zelda timeline official?

Is The Legend of Zelda timeline official?

The Zelda Timeline refers to the fictional chronology of The Legend of Zelda series. In 2007, producer Eiji Aonuma confirmed the existence of two parallel timelines branching from Ocarina of Time, now officially named the Child Timeline and Adult Timeline.

What is the timeline of the Legend of Zelda games?

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (1998) The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (2000) The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons and Oracle of Ages (2001) The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker (2002)

What timeline is Breath of the Wild in?

Breath of the Wild takes place at the end of The Legend of Zelda timeline, but Nintendo’s refusal to explain which timeline it’s in is a lazy move. The timeline for The Legend of Zelda is infamous for being convoluted and difficult to understand, and Breath of the Wild’s placement only perpetuates this issue.

How many timelines are there in Zelda?

Officially ever since the release of Hyrule Historia, it has been described by Nintendo that there are currently three official timelines. All centered around the Legend Of Zelda Ocarina Of Time. Each branch leads to a game that many fans will either love or personally dislike based on personal preference.

Is BotW in the child timeline?

No. BotW is set in a timeline where Ganon has been defeated time and time again, becoming less a man and more a mindless, raging beast.

Are all Loz games connected?

While Aonuma has stated that all the Zelda games take place in a single continuity, the third timeline branch, in which Link fails in his quest during Ocarina of Time, does not stem from events in any other part of the timeline, instead appearing to be a second, mutually exclusive continuity.

Is Link reincarnated?

Each link embodies the Hero’s Spirit which is unmalleable by all accounts so it remains pure and all that stuff. Link doesn’t have real reincarnation cuz he doesn’t know about his past selves except as legends or myths or similar.

Why is the Zelda timeline split?

The Split Timeline concept states that after the ending of Ocarina of Time, the Zelda timeline separated in two timelines thanks to Zelda sending Link back in time to relive his childhood. The two separate timelines have been designated by fans of the series as the Adult Timeline and the Child Timeline respectively.

Is BotW in the Child timeline?

Is Age of Calamity a prequel?

Today, the company revealed that it’s working on a prequel: Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity. The game is set 100 years before The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild and will tell the story of the Great Calamity.

Why did the Zelda timeline split?

Does Zelda have a timeline?

There were three Zelda timelines, which were united into one, and now there are two. The original Hyrule Warriors used an ambiguous setting that didn’t fit into any of the Zelda timelines, but that was a benefit, as it allowed for all kinds of fan service.

Which Legend of Zelda should you play first?

The first Zelda title to tell a genuine story without relying on ancillary sources, for many, this is the quintessential series experience. Introducing many story beats and gameplay features which would become staples of the lineage, A Link to the Past is a mandatory playthrough for new fans. Following that, Ocarina of Time is an obvious choice.

What is the chronological order of The Legend of Zelda?

The Legend of Zelda (1986)

  • Zelda II: The Adventure of Link (1987)
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past (1991)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (1993)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (1998)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (2000)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons and Oracle of Ages (2001)
  • The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker (2002)
  • What was the original Legend of Zelda?

    Very few games live up to the term legendary, and yet it only feels fitting that The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild not only achieved that accolade but in many ways exceeded all expectations. Its sense of exploration and wonder and the concept of “what’s over that hill” has arguably never been executed to a greater degree.