What are the 4 phases of cardiac rehab?

What are the 4 phases of cardiac rehab?

In this article, we’ll break down the four stages of cardiac rehabilitation – also known as the acute, subacute, outpatient and maintenance phases.

What are the phases of cardiac rehab and what do they include?

Comprehensive program

  • Phase 1: Hospitalization. Evaluation, education and rehabilitation efforts begin while you’re still in the hospital following a cardiac event.
  • Phase 2: Early outpatient.
  • Phase 3: Extended outpatient.

How many phases are there in cardiac rehabilitation?

When considering the right program to follow after a heart attack, it helps to understand the four phases of cardiac rehabilitation, the goals behind cardiac rehabilitation and what you can reasonably expect from the program overall.

What are the cardiac cycle phases?

The cardiac cycle is essentially split into two phases, systole (the contraction phase) and diastole (the relaxation phase). Each of these is then further divided into an atrial and ventricular component.

What is phase 2 cardiac rehabilitation?

Phase II Cardiac Rehabilitation is part of a comprehensive outpatient program designed to improve the heart health and quality of life for patients with heart disease. Tailored to meet individual needs, it combines education and exercise in a supportive environment.

What is phase 3 cardiac rehabilitation?

Phase 3 cardiac rehabilitation is the next step in the continuum of physical therapy after a cardiac event. Phase 3 cardiac rehab involves more intensive exercise and activity while you continue to monitor your body’s response to increased workloads.

What are the 4 phases of diastole?

LV filling occurs during diastole, which has 4 phases: (1) isovolumic relaxation; (2) rapid filling phase; (3) slow filling, or diastasis; and (4) final filling during atrial systole (atrial kick.) Isovolumic relaxation – this phase occurs after the aortic valve closes and the mitral valve is still closed.

What causes the 4 heart sounds?

The fourth heart sound, also known as the “atrial gallop,” occurs just before S1 when the atria contract to force blood into the LV. If the LV is noncompliant, and atrial contraction forces blood through the atrioventricular valves, a S4 is produced by the blood striking the LV.

When does the Phase 1 of cardiac rehabilitation begin?

The initial phase of cardiac rehabilitation occurs soon after your cardiac event. 1 An acute care physical therapist will work closely with your healthcare providers, nurses, and other rehabilitation professionals to help you start to regain your mobility.

What are the 4 phases of cardiac rehabilitation?

The Four Phases of Cardiac Rehabilitation 1 Phase One Cardiac Rehab: The Acute Phase. 2 Phase Two Cardiac Rehab: The Subacute Phase. 3 Phase Three: Intensive Outpatient Therapy. 4 Phase Four: Independent Ongoing Conditioning.

What is Phase 2 of cardiac rehabilitation?

Phase two of cardiac rehabilitation usually lasts from three to six weeks and involves continued monitoring of your cardiac responses to exercise and activity. Another important aspect of phase two cardiac rehabilitation is education about proper exercise procedures, and about how to self-monitor heart rate and exertion levels during exercise.

What is a pre-phase cardiac rehabilitation session?

These sessions are specifically designed for people who have had previous cardiac history and are now looking to improve their fitness or continue from their phase 3 prescription in a safe and productive environment.

What should I do during Phase 4 of my rehab program?

During Phase 4, you should continue to follow the guidance on exercise, nutrition, and lifestyle, as set out by your rehab team. You may proceed independently, or you may decide to self-fund further training with a physical therapist to help support you as you progress.