What are the 5 departments of France?

What are the 5 departments of France?

Since March 2011, the five overseas departments and regions of France are:

  • French Guiana in South America;
  • Guadeloupe in the Caribbean;
  • Martinique in the Caribbean;
  • Mayotte in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa;
  • Réunion in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa.

How many departments are in 26 regions in France?

For administrative purposes, France is divided into 26 regions: 21 on the mainland plus the overseas regions of French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique and Réunion; Corsica is officially designated a territorial collectivity (collectivité territoriale), but is generally considered for day-to-day purposes to be France’s …

How many departments is France divided into?

Ninety-six departments are in metropolitan France, and five are overseas departments, which are also classified as overseas regions….Departments of France.

Departments of France Départements français (French)
Found in Regions
Number 101 (as of 1 January 2021)
Possible types Metropolitan Departments Overseas Departments

What are the 3 main administrative divisions in France?

These 3 districts are Uvea, Sigave, and Alo. Uvea is the most populous and is further divided into 3 wards (districts in French): Hahake, Mua, and Hihifo.

What are DROM territories?

Often named by the acronym DROM-COM, the ‘Overseas Departments and Regions – Overseas Collectivities’ refer collectively to all land under French sovereignty outside mainland France: French overseas departments or DROM are Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Réunion and Mayotte.

When was France divided into departments?

The French Department system was established on March 4th, 1790 by the National Constituent Assembly to replace the provinces with what the Assembly deemed a more rational political structure.

Where is French Dept 22?

Department of Côtes-d’Armor – 22 The department is the second level of administrative divisions on the map of France. The department of Côtes-d’Armor is located in the region of region of Bretagne. The department of Côtes-d’Armor has the number 22 and is divided into 4 districts , 52 townships and 373 municipalities.

How are France’s regions divided?

France is divided into eighteen administrative regions (French: régions, singular région [ʁeʒjɔ̃]), of which thirteen are located in metropolitan France (in Europe), while the other five are overseas regions (not to be confused with the overseas collectivities, which have a semi-autonomous status).

How many municipalities are in France?

Communes of France
Found in Departments
Number 34,965 (List) (as of January 2021)
Populations 0 (Several) – 2,175,601 (Paris)
Government Municipal Council

What are the regions of France called in French?

Regions and their capitals

Region French name Capital
Centre-Val de Loire Centre-Val de Loire Orléans
Île-de-France Île-de-France Paris
Occitania Occitanie Toulouse
Hauts-de-France Hauts-de-France Lille

Is Guadeloupe a DROM or COM?

French overseas departments or DROM are Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Réunion and Mayotte. French territorial overseas communities or COM are French Poynesia, Wallis and Futuna, Saint-Bathélémy, Saint-Martin and Saint-Pierre et Miquelon.

What does DROM-com stand for in French?

Definition. DROM. Départements et Régions d’Outre-Mer (French: Departments and Overseas Regions)

How many departments are there in France?

In the administrative divisions of France, the department ( French: département, pronounced [depaʁtəmɑ̃]) is one of the three levels of government under the national level (” territorial collectivities “), between the administrative regions and the communes. Ninety-six departments are in metropolitan France, and five are overseas departments,

What is the departmental seat of government in France?

The departmental seat of government is known as the prefecture (préfecture) or chef-lieu de département and is generally a town of some importance roughly at the geographical centre of the department.

What are the different types of local government in France?

Regional and local government. The main units of local government, defined by the constitution as collectivités territoriales (“territorial collectivities”), are the régions, the départements, the communes, and the overseas territories.

Who is the head of the executive in France?

The head of state and head of the executive is the President, elected by universal suffrage. Since May 2017, France’s president is Emmanuel Macron, who was elected to the post at age 39, the youngest French leader since Napoleon.