What are the computer science standards?

What are the computer science standards?

The CSTA K–12 Computer Science Standards delineate a core set of learning objectives designed to provide the foundation for a complete computer science curriculum and its implementation at the K–12 level. Introduce the fundamental concepts of computer science to all students, beginning at the elementary school level.

Does Washington state use common core standards?

Learning Standards & Best Practices for Instruction The Common Core State Standards are the Washington State K–12 ELA Learning Standards. The standards describe what students should know and be able to do at each grade level.

What is the K-12 standards?

The K to 12 Program covers Kindergarten and 12 years of basic education (six years of primary education, four years of Junior High School, and two years of Senior High School [SHS]) to provide sufficient time for mastery of concepts and skills, develop lifelong learners, and prepare graduates for tertiary education.

How do you cite Washington social studies standards?

If this work is used “as is”, provide the following attribution: “The Washington Social Studies Learning Standards by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction are available under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

What is a computer science framework?

In computer systems, a framework is often a layered structure indicating what kind of programs can or should be built and how they would interrelate. Some computer system frameworks also include actual programs, specify programming interfaces, or offer programming tools for using the frameworks.

Why is computer science standards important?

As students learn computer science, they build an understanding of the importance of computing and computing tools. The standards prepare all students to enter college and career as both critical consumers, and also thoughtful creators and innovators of computing technology.

What is the difference between Common Core and state standards?

The Common Core standards are irrefutably more rigorous than current state standards and represent a shift that schools must make in order to prepare students for the increasingly competitive global workforce.

What states use Common Core?

The education initiative known as Common Core was initially adopted in some states as early as 2010, with Kentucky being the first state. Originally, 46 states passed laws adopting the Common Core standards in their schools….Common Core States 2022.

State Common Core Adoption
South Dakota Adopted
Tennessee Adopted
Utah Adopted
Vermont Adopted

How do I cite state standards in APA?

Basic format to reference standards

  1. Author.
  2. Year (in round brackets).
  3. Standard title (in italics).
  4. Standard number (in round brackets).
  5. Publisher name.
  6. Homepage URL of the publisher (as a direct URL is not available for standards).
  7. The first line of each citation is left adjusted.

What is the name of the standards that we use here in Washington state for kindergarten through 12th grade?

The Social Studies K-12 Learning Standards, adopted September 17, 2019, consist of Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and Grade Level Expectations (GLEs) that describe what students should know and be able to do in social studies skills, civics, economics, geography, and history.