What does GGRC stand for?

What does GGRC stand for?

Golden Gate Regional Center
Golden Gate Regional Center serves individuals and families in Marin, San Francisco and San Mateo counties. Below is a brief explanation of what makes a person eligible for GGRC services.

How do I register with GGRC?

How to Apply for Services

  1. Phone: 1-888-339-3305.
  2. Fax: 1-888-339-3306.
  3. Email: [email protected] You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  4. Mail: 3130 La Selva Street, Suite 202, San Mateo, CA 94403 (ATTN: Intake Unit)

What does Golden Gate Regional Center do?

Golden Gate Regional Center is a state-funded nonprofit organization serving individuals with developmental disabilities in Marin, San Francisco and San Mateo counties by assisting these individuals and their families in securing services to enable them to lead more independent, productive and normal lives.

What does Established risk mean?

An established risk condition exists when an infant or toddler. has a condition of known etiology which has a high probability of resulting in developmental delay.

What are some conditions of established risk?

Conditions of Established Risk. A condition of established risk is defined as a “diagnosed physical or mental condi- tion which has a high probability of resulting in develop- mental delay” (IDEA 2004, §632(5)(A)(ii)).

What are the three categories of risk for developmental delay?

Risk Factors of Developmental Delays

  • Genetic conditions, such as Down syndrome, fragile X syndrome, cerebral palsy, and muscular dystrophy.
  • Maternal infections, such as chickenpox and rubella, during pregnancy.
  • Maternal use of drugs or alcohol during pregnancy.
  • Lack of oxygen to the baby during delivery.

What is at risk in disability?

The term may be applied to students who face circumstances that could jeopardize their ability to complete school, such as homelessness, incarceration, teenage pregnancy, serious health issues, domestic violence, transiency (as in the case of migrant-worker families), or other conditions, or it may refer to learning …

Can a child outgrow developmental delay?

Kids can outgrow or catch up from developmental delays. Developmental disabilities are lifelong, though people can still make progress and thrive. Conditions that can cause developmental disabilities include Down syndrome, autism , fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD), and brain injuries.

What is emotional disturbance?

Definition of Emotional Disturbance An inability to build or maintain satisfactory interpersonal relationships with peers and teachers. Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal circumstances. A general pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression.

What is physical disability?

A physical disability is a condition that substantially limits one or more basic physical activities in life (i.e. walking, climbing stairs, reaching, carrying, or lifting). These limitations hinder the person from performing tasks of daily living. Physical disabilities are highly individualized.

What are the 4 main types of developmental disorders?

There are four main types of developmental disorders: nervous system disabilities, sensory related disabilities, metabolic disabilities and degenerative disorders. Many different subsets of disabilities nest under these four main groups.