What if Massa won in 2008?

What if Massa won in 2008?

It was the eighteenth and final race of the 2008 Formula One World Championship. Ferrari driver Felipe Massa won the 71-lap race from pole position; this was the last of Massa’s 11 wins….

2008 Brazilian Grand Prix
Weather Rain at beginning and end, otherwise drying
Pole position
Driver Felipe Massa Ferrari
Time 1:12.368

What happened in the 2008 F1 championship?

Lewis Hamilton won the Drivers’ title by a point – by overtaking Toyota’s Timo Glock on the final corner of the final lap of the final Grand Prix of the season to claim the required 5th-place finish to win the championship – from Brazilian Felipe Massa, while Massa’s teammate, the 2007 world champion Kimi Räikkönen.

What happened to Massa in Brazil?

Since retirement from Formula One, Massa has pursued a career in the FIA’s all electric series Formula E. He retired from Formula E at the end of the 2019-20 Championship. He then joined the 2021 season of the Stock Car Brasil series.

Who won the 2008 constructors championship?

Lewis Hamilton won the 2008 Formula One World Championship for drivers. Felipe Massa was second and Kimi Räikkönen third. Ferrari won the championship for constructors.

Why is Timo Glock slow?

In the moments following the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix, fans and insiders pointed to Timo Glock as possibly rigging and manipulating the outcome. He told planetf1.com that fans still inquired about his slowing car on the final lap at Interlagos in 2008.

How did Hamilton not win?

With Lewis Hamilton missing out on the 2021 F1 Drivers’ Championship, after Max Verstappen overtook him on the last lap of the 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, it means he is in a unique position as the only driver to have won and lost a title due to the events of the last lap of the last race.

Who did Hamilton overtake in Brazil?

Lewis Hamilton delivered one of the comeback drives of his career at the Sao Paulo GP to charge through the field from 10th to clinch a huge win, overtaking Max Verstappen after a fierce battle to cut his rival’s title lead.

Who was Lewis Hamilton’s team mate in 2008?

Heikki Kovalainen
Hamilton found himself with a new teammate for the 2008 season in the form of Finland’s Heikki Kovalainen. Although both drivers were competing in their second season in the sport, Hamilton was McLaren’s “Golden Child” and the team was very much built around him.

Who is the youngest F1 world champion?

Sebastian Vettel
Sebastian Vettel is the youngest winner of the World Drivers’ Championship; he was 23 years and 134 days old when he won the 2010 championship.

Who won the 2007 F1 season?

Kimi Räikkönen
Kimi Räikkönen, the 2007 World Drivers’ Champion with 110 points, his only title in his first year with Ferrari. Lewis Hamilton, runner-up with 109 points.

Who won the 2008 European Grand Prix?

It was the 12th race of the 2008 Formula One World Championship. Felipe Massa for the Ferrari team won the 57-lap race from pole position. Lewis Hamilton finished second in a McLaren car, with Robert Kubica third in a BMW Sauber….

2008 European Grand Prix
Third Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
show Lap leaders

Who won 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix?

Felipe Massa2008 Brazilian Grand Prix / Winner

Did Felipe Massa cry at the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix?

‘There was no way I could not cry’. Felipe Massa wipes tears from his eyes as he pulls up at the spot reserved for the winner of the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix. Clive Mason/Getty Images Timo Glock: There was this bunch of journalists coming towards me and so I walked to the side, because I thought they were going straight to Lewis.

How did Massa take his first podium position of the season?

After qualifying a disappointing 8th, Massa produced a mistake free drive to net his first podium position of the season with a 3rd place at the German Grand Prix at the Nürburgring. After making a great start to 4th place, he used his fuel strategy while defending from other drivers and looking after his tyres to take the final podium place.

What happened at the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix?

One of the most dramatic Formula One world championship finales occurred at the Brazilian Grand Prix in November 2008. It all started a year earlier.

What happened to Massa at Interlagos?

On 22 October, Massa won his home race at the Brazilian Grand Prix, the first time a Brazilian driver had won at Interlagos since Ayrton Senna in 1993. Massa finished the season third with 80 points, behind world champion Alonso and Ferrari teammate Schumacher.