What is a government information specialist?

What is a government information specialist?

Government Information Specialists formulate policy, advise agency management, and ensure compliance with Federal laws governing the flow of information. The work also involves the safeguarding of Government information while supporting accountability and transparency.

What is a position classification?

Position classification is the process used to allocate a position’s defined duties and responsibilities to a job standard. The position classification process involves reviewing the duties and responsibilities assigned to a position.

What is a GS 0301?

Miscellaneous Administration and Program Series, GS-0301. This series includes positions the duties of which are to perform, supervise, or manage nonprofessional, two-grade interval work for which no other series is appropriate.

What does a FOIA specialist do?

A FOIA specialist makes or assesses requests for such information. You review the documents and determine if the requested information falls under the Freedom of Information Act. If you work for a law office or other organization, your responsibilities include filing requests and appeals for the release of data.

What is a classification specialist?

The Classification Specialist is primarily responsible for interviewing, evaluating and assessing the needs and risks of inmates and making appropriate housing assignments to ensure a safe and secure environment within the jail. The position is supervised by a Corrections Supervisor.

What is a code 4 supervisor?

Typically, code 4 supervisors are reserved for small organizations where no other supervisory options are practical and position management principles have been applied.

What is a 301 job series?

Positions classified in the Miscellaneous Administration and Program Series, GS-0301, involve specialized work for which no appropriate occupational series has been established. Typically, positions in this series are too few of a kind to have been recognized as separate lines of work.

What is a GS-0301 11?

Administrative Specialist, GS-0301.

How do I get my position description?

Employees should have access to their position description. If you need a copy of your position description, you should first look in your Electronic Official Personnel Folder (eOPF). If one is not filed in your eOPF, you should contact your immediate supervisor or your Servicing Human Resource Office.

How many steps are in GS pay scale?

10 steps
Each General Schedule (GS) grade has 10 steps. Within-grade increases (WGIs) or step increases are periodic increases in a GS employee’s rate of basic pay from one step of the grade of his or her position to the next higher step of that grade.

How do I become a FOIA analyst?

The qualifications and skills that you need to become a FOIA specialist include a degree and an intimate knowledge of the Freedom of Information Act. If you work for a government agency, you need at least a bachelor’s degree in a relevant field.

What is the government information specialist job series (0306)?

Hardly appropriate treatment for those who uphold the ideals of transparency and democracy! All of this changed in March 2012 when, as a result of the hard work of some dedicated advocates, the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) created the Government Information Specialist Job Series, 0306.

In the occupational information section of the flysheet, OPM describes the Government Information Specialist as a person who is entrusted withl, “implementing policies and procedures to manage Government information and providing information-related assistance and services to the general public.”

What’s new with OPM’s Government Information Series?

To distinguish the importance of their work, OPM recently created the Government Information Series, a new job category for FOIA and Privacy Act professionals, which will promote, “transparency as well as accountability in providing American citizens with easier access to more Government information.”