What is Goru Bihu?

What is Goru Bihu?

Goru Bihu is the Festival of the Cattle celebrated on the eve of Rongali Bihu.The cattle are washed,smeared with a paste of fresh turmeric,black lentil etc , while people sing to them, “lao kha, bengena kha, bosore bosore barhi ja/maar xoru, baper xoru, toi hobi bor bor goru—eat gourd, eat brinjal, grow from year to …

How many Bihus are there?

Bihu is a set of three important Assamese festivals in the Indian state of Assam—Rongali or Bohag Bihu observed in April, Kongali or Kati Bihu observed in October, and Bhogali or Magh Bihu observed in January. The Rongali Bihu is the most important of the three, celebrating spring festival.

Why is Rongali Bihu celebrated?

The festival lasts for seven days and marks the beginning of spring. It also marks the Assamese New Year. As Rongali Bihu is the New Year for the people of Assam, it is celebrated with great joy in the state. According to the Bengali calendar, Bihu falls on the first day of the Magh month.

How many types of Bohag Bihu are there?

The three primary types of Bihu are Bohag Bihu or Rongali Bihu, Kati Bihu or Kongali Bihu, and Magh Bihu or Bhogali Bihu. Each festival historically recognizes a different agricultural cycle of the paddy crops.

Who celebrate Bihu?

Bihu is a harvest festival celebrated mainly in Assam and a few other North-eastern states three times a year. The festival celebrated in January that coincides with Makar Sankranti is called the Bhogali Bihu.

Which country is Assam?

Assam is located in the northeast of India. The state shares its borders with Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura, and West Bengal. The state shares international borders with Bangladesh, Myanmar, and the Kingdom of Bhutan.

Is Goru Bihu today?

The Bohag Bihu will be celebrated from 14th April 2021, Wednesday till 20th April 2021, Tuesday. Also called the Rongali Bihu, the Bohag Bihu is the most popular Bihu that celebrates the arrival of spring and the onset of the Assamese New Year. The first day of the Assamese Bihu is called cow Bihu or Goru Bihu.

What is Uruka in Assam?

Uruka or Bihu Eve (Beginning) The first day of Magh Bihu is known as Uruka or the Bihu Eve. The word Uruka is originally derived from the Deori-Chutia word Urukuwa which means “to end”, signifying the end of the harvesting season as well the Pausha month.

Why is it called Rongali Bihu?

The new year starts with the month ‘Bohag’. This is the reason why Rongali Bihu is also called ‘Bohag Bihu’. The word ‘Rongali’ is derived from ‘Rong’ which means Happiness and celebrations. So this festival represent happiness of the society.

What are the 7 types of Bihu?

Seven-day celebration (7 pinnacle phases) of Bohag Bihu The seven-day festival is also called as ‘Xaat Bihu’ and the days are known as Raati Bihu, Chot Bihu, Goru Bihu, Manuh Bihu, Kutum Bihu, Mela Bihu, and Chera Bihu.

What do we do in Bohag Bihu?

Importance of Bohag Bihu The celebration of Bihu takes place over a span of 7 days. In the observance of Bohag Bihu, people wake up early and bathe with raw turmeric and urad dal paste, wear new clothes and seek blessings from elders followed by jalpan – a light breakfast of sticky rice along with curd and jaggery.

Why is Bihu famous?

Bihu is a harvest festival that is celebrated to mark the shift in the Sun’s solstice. The Sun which enters its transitory phase towards North is celebrated with much fervor and enthusiasm across the nation for its significant impact on agriculture and crops.

Bathing and worshipping cows ( Goru bihu) is a part of the Bihu celebrations. The first day of the bihu is called goru bihu or cow bihu, where the cows are washed and worshipped, which falls on the last day of the previous year, usually on 14 April.

What are the 7 days of Bihu?

The seven days are known as Chot Bihu, Goru Bihu, Manuh Bihu, Kutum Bihu, Senehi Bihu, Mela Bihu and Chera Bihu. Goru Bihu: The goru bihu or cattle worship rites are observed on the last day of the year.

What is the significance of Bihu?

The three Bihu are Assamese festivals with reverence for Krishna, cattle ( Goru Bihu ), elders in family, fertility and mother goddess, but the celebrations and rituals reflect influences from aborigine, southeast Asia and Sino-Tibetan cultures.

What is the difference between Bihu and Bhogali Bihu?

Bohag Bihu is a sowing festival, Kati Bihu is associated with crop protection and worship of plants and crops and is an animistic form of the festival, while Bhogali Bihu is a harvest festival. Assamese celebrate the Rongali Bihu with feasts, music and dancing.