What is the ELPA test?

What is the ELPA test?

The ELPA21 assessment system measures a student’s proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, listening to, and understanding English. It comprises two assessments: the screener assessment and the summative assessment.

How long does the ELPA Screener take?

Keep in mind, it can take up to a week to appear in the system.

What is the ELPA 21?

ELPA21 is an assessment system that supports states and educators as they adopt and implement the English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards.

What are the primary components of an ELPA?

The ELPA contains four domains, Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking, all of which begin with a sample question that allows the student to observe what type of response is expected.

Why was the ELPA created?

The ELPA 21 assessment system was developed by a consortium to help English language learner (ELL) students acquire the academic English language required for accessing content knowledge so they are prepared for college and career.

What does the ELPA stand for?

Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis. ELPA.

Why are accessibility features included in the test Wida?

The WIDA Accessibility and Accommodations Framework provides support for all ELLs, as well as targeted accommodations for students with Individual Education Programs (IEP) or 504 plans. These supports are intended to increase the accessibility of the assessments for all ELLs.

What is ELPA mean?


Acronym Definition
ELPA English Language Proficiency Act
ELPA Entry Level Professional Accountant
ELPA Eyring Low Profile Antenna
ELPA Extra Low Profile Antenna

What is ELPA level?

ELPA21 assesses English language ability in the four language domains of Reading, Listening, Writing and Speaking. A detailed Achievement Level Descriptor (ALD) will be found on your child’s individual score report for each domain. Within each of the four domains there are five performance levels (1-5).

How is the ELPA scored?

ELPA21 summative assessments provide scale scores on each of the four domains of listening, reading, speaking and writing, which are classified into five levels of performance. Overall proficiency is determined through the pattern and level of performance across the four domains.

What is ELPA education?

ELPA: English Language Proficiency Assessment English Language Proficiency Assessment (ELPA) is for K-12 students eligible for English language learner (ELL) services.

What are the tiers of the Wida Speaking test?

Proficiency levels describe a student’s ability to use (speak and write) and process (read and listen) social and academic English in terms of the six WIDA English language proficiency levels (1-Entering, 2-Emerging, 3-Developing, 4-Expanding, 5-Bridging, and 6-Reaching).

What is the ELPA?

The ELPA measures and reports on students’ English language proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, listening, and comprehension. Delivered online, ELPA is designed to be interactive and includes questions that reflect real-world scenarios.

Who can I contact for more information about Oregon’s English Language Proficiency Assessment?

For more information about Oregon’s English Language Proficiency Assessment, please contact Ben Wolcott at 503-947-5835. How can we make this page more helpful?

What is elpa21 Oregon?

Oregon is a member of the English Language Proficiency Assessment for the 21st Century (ELPA21), a group of states committed to supporting educators, school administrators, and communities as they adopt and implement the new English Language Proficiency (ELP) Standards and college- and career-ready standards.

Where can I find the ELPA screener directions for administration?

The ELPA screener Directions for Administration can be found under Administration Manuals on the Test Administration page. Oregon ELPA Cut Scores 2013-14 & 2014-15 Kindergarten Grades 2-3 Grades 4-5