What was the Senate makeup in 2014?

What was the Senate makeup in 2014?

2014 United States Senate elections

Party Republican Democratic
Leader since January 3, 2007 January 3, 2005
Leader’s seat Kentucky Nevada
Seats before 45 53
Seats after 54 44

How many votes did Lindsey Graham get in 2014?

2014 United States Senate election in South Carolina

Nominee Lindsey Graham Brad Hutto
Party Republican Democratic
Popular vote 672,942 480,933
Percentage 54.2% 38.7%

Who ran for NC Senate in 2016?

2016 United States Senate election in North Carolina

Nominee Richard Burr Deborah K. Ross
Party Republican Democratic
Popular vote 2,395,376 2,128,165
Percentage 51.0% 45.3%

Who controlled the Senate in 2014?

The 2014 elections gave the Republicans control of the Senate and the House for the first time since the 109th Congress. With 248 seats in the House of Representatives and 54 seats in the Senate, this Congress began with the largest Republican majority since the 71st Congress of 1929–1931.

What was Senate majority in 2016?

2016 United States Senate elections

Leader Mitch McConnell Harry Reid (retired)
Party Republican Democratic
Leader’s seat Kentucky Nevada
Seats before 54 44
Seats after 52 46

When did Thomas Ravenel run for Senate?

He starred for five seasons on the Bravo reality-television series Southern Charm, was state treasurer for six months, an Independent candidate for the United States Senate in the 2014 election in South Carolina, and a Republican candidate for U.S. Senate in the 2004 primary election.

What district is Lindsey Graham in?

Senator (R-SC) since 2003Lindsey Graham / Office

Who did Richard Burr beat?

2016. Burr defeated Democratic nominee Deborah K. Ross, 51%–45%. Burr was an advisor for Donald Trump’s presidential campaign.

Who controlled the Senate in 2013?

The Senate had a Democratic majority, while the House had a Republican majority. This was the last time Democrats held control of the Senate until the 117th Congress in 2021.

Who controlled the Senate in 2017?

The Republican Party retained their majorities in both the House and the Senate, and with Donald Trump being sworn in as President on January 20, 2017, this gave the Republicans an overall federal government trifecta for the first time since the 109th Congress in 2005.

Who won the Senate in 2012?

Senate elections Democrats were expected to have 23 seats up for election, including 2 independents who caucus with the Democrats, while Republicans were only expected to have 10 seats up for election. The Democrats ended up retaining majority control of the Senate, picking up two net seats.

Who is running for the US Senate from North Carolina?

Incumbent Thom Tillis defeated Paul Wright, Larry Holmquist, and Sharon Hudson in the Republican primary for U.S. Senate North Carolina on March 3, 2020. Incumbents are bolded and underlined.

Who is winning in North Carolina race?

Republican Dan Bishop wins narrow victory in North Carolina special election Trump’s political standing was on the line in the closely watched contest in state’s 9th Congressional District.

Who won the governors race in North Carolina?

Under a 2018 state law, party primary elections were held on March 3, 2020. Cooper was re-elected to a second term, defeating the Republican nominee, Lieutenant Governor Dan Forest. Cooper’s re-election win makes him the first Governor of North Carolina to win re-election since Mike Easley, who was re-elected in 2004.

How many Senate members are from North Carolina?

North Carolina. North Carolina has two senators in the United States Senate and 13 representatives in the United States House of Representatives. North Carolina is a state in the United States. (About Ads | Hide These Ads)