WHO dengue virus classification?

WHO dengue virus classification?

Dengue classification according to the World Health Organization guidelines issued in 1975 and 1997. Dengue is classified as (1) undifferentiated fever, (2) dengue fever (DF), and (3) dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF).

What are four types of dengue virus?

There are four dengue virus serotypes: DENV-1, DENV-2, DENV-3, and DENV-4. They belong to the genus Flavivirus, family Flaviviridae (of which yellow fever virus is the type species), which contains approximately 53 viruses.

What are the different types of dengue?

There are four serotypes (DENV-1, -2, -3, and -4), and the virus is transmitted to humans through the bite of mosquitoes of the genus Aedes (5). DENV causes a wide spectrum of clinical manifestations, from DF to dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF), which may progress to dengue shock syndrome (DSS) (20, 43).

What are the three types of dengue?

What are the different types of Dengue? Dengue is majorly classified into Mild Dengue Fever, Dengue Hemorrhagic fever, and Dengue Shock syndrome. Mild Dengue Fever is the most commonly occurring form of Dengue and is non-fatal.

What is dengue Slideshare?

DENGUE. Virus vector and transmission Dengue Virus Causes dengue and dengue hemorrhagic fever Is an arbovirus Transmitted by mosquitoes Composed of single-stranded RNA Has 4 serotypes (DEN-1, 2, 3, 4)

What is serotype of dengue?

The Dengue Serotypes Dengue infections are caused by four closely related viruses named DEN-1, DEN-2, DEN-3, and DEN-4. These four viruses are called serotypes because each has different interactions with the antibodies in human blood serum.

What is serotype in virus?

A serotype or serovar is a distinct variation within a species of bacteria or virus or among immune cells of different individuals. These microorganisms, viruses, or cells are classified together based on their surface antigens, allowing the epidemiologic classification of organisms to the subspecies level.

How many types of dengue are there in India?

Dengue virus strains are of four types. Type I causes classic dengue fever, type II leads to haemorrhagic fever with shock, dengue III causes fever without shock and dengue IV causes fever without shock or profound shock.

What is Stage 3 dengue?

Stage III: This is the recovery phase. It usually takes a few days for the patients to get back to normal. At this stage, the patient gains back its appetite, has a slower pulse rate, has a convalescent rash at legs and arms.

What is dengue virus?

Dengue is a mosquito-borne viral disease that has rapidly spread to all regions of WHO in recent years. Dengue virus is transmitted by female mosquitoes mainly of the species Aedes aegypti and, to a lesser extent, Ae. albopictus. These mosquitoes are also vectors of chikungunya, yellow fever and Zika viruses.

How is dengue virus diagnosis?

Doctors can diagnose dengue infection with a blood test to check for the virus or antibodies to it. If you become sick after traveling to a tropical area, let your doctor know. This will allow your doctor to evaluate the possibility that your symptoms were caused by a dengue infection.

Dengue clinical syndrome There are actually four dengue clinical syndromes: 1. Undifferentiated fever; 2. Classic dengue fever; 3. Dengue hemorrhagic fever, or DHF; and 4. Dengue shock syndrome, or DSS. Dengue shock syndrome is actually a severe form of DHF. 9.

What is the best presentation software for dengue fever?

Indian national airliner for most germs! PowerPoint is the world’s most popular presentation software which can let you create professional Dengue Fever powerpoint presentation easily and in no time.

How is dengue classified under the 1997 guidelines?

The 1997 guidelines (Fig. 2) classified dengue into DF, DHF (Grades 1 and 2) and DSS (DHF Grades 3 and 4).9,11The case diagnosis for DF emphasised the need for laboratory confirmation and the suggested DF classifications are shown in Box 1, together with those for DHF and DSS. Open in a separate window Figure 2

What are the stages of dengue fever?

Dengue begins abruptly after a typical incubation period of 5–7 days, and the course follows 3 phases: febrile, critical, and convalescent. Febrile Phase. Fever typically lasts 2–7 days and can be biphasic.