Who is Croydon North MP?

Who is Croydon North MP?

Croydon North is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament since 2012 by Steve Reed of the Labour Party and the Co-operative Party.

Who is the MP for Croydon Council?

MP details – Steve Reed MP.

How many MPS are there in Croydon?

Croydon Central (UK Parliament constituency)

Croydon Central
Created 1974
Member of Parliament Sarah Jones (Labour)
Number of members One
Created from Croydon South

Is Yvette Cooper an MP?

Yvette Cooper (born 20 March 1969) is a British politician serving as Shadow Home Secretary since 2021, and previously from 2011 to 2015. A member of the Labour Party, she has been Member of Parliament (MP) for Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford, previously Pontefract and Castleford, since 1997.

Who is the MP for South Croydon?

Chris Philp

Chris Philp MP
Member of Parliament for Croydon South
Assumed office 7 May 2015
Preceded by Richard Ottaway

Where does the name Croydon come from?

It was believed that Croydon’s name has an Anglo-Saxon origin, like most boroughs in the surrounding area, coming from the word croh meaning ‘crocus’ and denu meaning ‘valley’. Another possible name origin is Brittonic in the form of Crai-dun meaning ‘settlement near fresh water’.

Who is MP for South Croydon?

Who is Croydon mayor?

The Council elected Councillor Sherwan Chowdhury to serve as Mayor of Croydon for 2021-2022. The Deputy Mayor is Councillor Felicity Flynn.

What constituency is Shirley in?

The constituency is one of two covering the Metropolitan Borough of Solihull. It covers the town of Solihull itself, as well as Shirley and Olton. It is a largely well-off, residential area, in the south-east of the West Midlands conurbation.

Is Harriet Harman an MP?

Harriet Ruth Harman QC (born 30 July 1950) is a British politician and solicitor who has served as Member of Parliament (MP) for Camberwell and Peckham, formerly Peckham, since 1982. Harman was elected as MP for Peckham at a 1982 by-election.

Who is Pontefract MP?

Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford (UK Parliament constituency)

Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
Created 2010
Member of Parliament Yvette Cooper (Labour)
Number of members One
Created from Pontefract and Castleford, Normanton

Who is the MP for Maldon?

John Flasby Lawrance Whittingdale, OBE MP (born 16 October 1959) is a British politician serving as Member of Parliament (MP) for Maldon (and its predecessors) since 1992.

How many members of Parliament are there in Croydon?

Find out which councillors sit in the Cabinet and in the Shadow Cabinet. There are 3 Members of Parliament representing the parliamentary constituencies of Croydon South, Croydon North and Croydon Central. There is one Member of the London Assembly, representing Croydon and Sutton.

Where can I find information on Croydon councillors and cabinet members?

All information on Croydon councillors, Cabinet members, MPs and London Assembly Members is available on democracy.croydon.gov.uk. There are 70 councillors representing wards across the London Borough of Croydon. Find out which councillors sit in the Cabinet and in the Shadow Cabinet.

When was the Croydon North West seat created?

The seat was created in 1918 and split in two in 1955 (taking in neighbouring areas) and re-devised in a wholly different form in 1997. The seat was created from the former Croydon North West and part of the former North East constituencies.

What does the Croydon North Ward look like?

Croydon North is the densest of Croydon’s three seats, regarded as a safe Labour seat with all wards controlled by them at local level, consisting for the most part of rows of modest terraced houses, interspersed with tower blocks, much of it social and ex- social housing and with recreational areas.