Who won Indian election in 1989?

Who won Indian election in 1989?

General elections were held in India on 22 and 26 November 1989 to elect the members of the 9th Lok Sabha. The incumbent Indian National Congress government under the premiership of Rajiv Gandhi was defeated by the National Front, an alliance forged by Janata Dal, which won a plurality of seats.

Who won election of 1989?

The Republican nominee, incumbent Vice President George H. W. Bush, defeated the Democratic nominee, Governor Michael Dukakis of Massachusetts. This was the first presidential election since 1948, and the most recent to date, in which a party won a third consecutive presidential term.

Which Indian government was in power in 1989?

National Front (NF) was a coalition of political parties, led by the Janata Dal, which formed India’s government between 1989 and 1990 under the leadership of N. T. Rama Rao, popularly known as NTR, as President of national front and V. P. Singh as Convener.

Why did Rajiv Gandhi lose 1989?

In mid-1987, the Bofors scandal damaged his corruption-free image and resulted in a major defeat for his party in the 1989 election. Gandhi remained Congress President until the elections in 1991. While campaigning for the elections, he was assassinated by a suicide bomber from the LTTE.

What was the result of the general election of 1977?

1977 Indian general election

Seats won 295 154
Seat change 260 198
Popular vote 78,062,828 65,211,589
Percentage 41.32% 34.52%
Swing 25.57pp 9.16pp

How did VP Singh became PM?

In 1988, he formed the Janata Dal party by merging various factions of the Janata Party. In the 1989 elections, the National Front, with the support of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP), formed the government and Singh became the 8th Prime Minister of India.

Who was president in March 1988?

George H. W. Bush 1988 presidential campaign

George H. W. Bush for President 1988
Campaign 1988 Republican primaries 1988 U.S. presidential election
Candidate George H. W. Bush 43rd Vice President of the United States (1981–1989) Dan Quayle U.S. Senator from Indiana (1981–1989)
Affiliation Republican Party

Who was the Prime Minister in 1989 in India?

After a general election loss, Rajiv Gandhi’s five-year term ended; his former cabinet colleague, Vishwanath Pratap Singh of the Janata Dal, formed the year-long National Front coalition government in 1989.

How did V. P. Singh became PM?

Which year did the Congress come into power again after 1989?

The Congress party won the 2004 general elections and returned to power after a record eight years out of office. The Congress-led coalition known as the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) under Manmohan Singh formed a government.

Which general election called second revolution?

General elections were held in India between 16 and 20 March 1977 to elect the members of the 6th Lok Sabha.